In the in-between

June 7, 2012 § 16 Comments

We are in the in the in-between.

In-between countries –ย I am in the U.S. – the Spaniard is in Spain. (Arrival less than 1 month!)

San Vicente, Spain

We are in-between wedding parties. (Yes, there is one more!)

Wedding 1 - Gibraltar, U.K.

Party 2 - San Vicente, Spain

All of this in-between is full of so many emotions, so much anticipation, brimming with excitement.

I have been working hard. Working hard to build the business that I left for 2 years while abroad. Working hard to create a home that the Spaniard will instantly feel at-home in.

I have to say… deep down inside I am slightly petrified that my new husband will get to America – look at me, look around – and simply say “what was I thinking!?”

Moving to a new country for someone is huge. At times I have let this thought overwhelm me. But as my absolutely amazing husband has reminded me, he is a grown up and he knows what he is doing. “That is not your concern,” he says.

Though we are a partnership and have married to share our lives together – we are still both in charge of our own happiness.

I am so pleased with the way that our home is coming together. I lived like a bachelor for… well… until about 3 weeks ago. Remember that itchy couch? Well, I returned it and lived couch-less for months. It’s amazing how much furniture you don’t need when you live alone and aren’t entertaining!

I like to think our place has an industrial/library/gallery feel.

Everything is almost perfect.

My mom and I have been having so much fun getting back on the American wedding ball.

It’s honestly been the easiest party to plan. (Thanks to my mother’s deep deep love of all things wedding.)ย I can’t wait to share more about this event.

But I will tell you – one thing that has been amazing – is how excited everyone else is about this party! The American wedding party has been touted as the party of the year. I sure hope it lives up to the hype!

Off to figure out our clothes storage situation. I do not want the Spaniard’s clothes to find an in-between home on the floor.

§ 16 Responses to In the in-between

  • Chaaron says:

    You have so much fun ahead of you! Within the month I’m sure you’ll figure out the clothes storage and the place will be perfect for this new phase for you and the Spaniard.

    • K says:

      You are right! So much fun! I am constantly telling David about all of the “fun things” that await him here. ๐Ÿ™‚ I also tell him all of my organization and storage ideas. He could care less about the latter ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Chaaron says:

        Men! They just don’t care about the little details like we do, do they?
        You’ll have to post your organization and storage solutions so I can oooh and ahhh over them!

      • K says:

        Great idea Chaaron. Wait until you see the size of the closets in this place. You will be proud of my solutions… but mainly you will just feel sorry for me… and my clothes that can’t breathe ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Cat says:

    Being in a bicultural, bilingual relationship myself, I think patience and flexibility is what’s ahead! Everytime I talk about it with my Spaniard, it’s clear that for him to ever move to America, there would have to be a lot of sacrifice on his part and a lot of patience on mine. The closest we ever got to leaving Sevilla was going to Germany, but the fact that he’s open to it means there’s hope there that wasn’t four years ago! Suerte, rubia!!

    • K says:

      You have far more patience that me, Cat! Major high fives to you! ๐Ÿ™‚ But it’s true … there is a lot of compromise. But one thing that has been important for David and I is being on the same page from the beginning – as far as general life plan and ideals. And yes… there is always hope! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • “Moving to a new country for someone is huge.” — Yes! Sometimes I forget this. I mean, I met Mario in Spain, but I’m back because of him. No more, no less. Without him, I’d want to live in the US, for sure — it’s where all my friends and family are.

    But don’t let it overwhelm you. I like what he says, that he knows what he’s doing. Me too. I’m nervous about it, obviously, but I’m ready to make a sacrifice for Mario, and obviously your Spaniard is ready to make one for you (for the both of you really!). How amazingly romantic, in a huge way!

    • K says:

      Oh Kaley – never forget how huge it is to hop countries! Especially on the hard days… I truly believe that to achieve greatness you have to take a risk – which you are definitely doing! I say – major props to our country hopping selves… and Spaniards. :))

  • marie says:

    This post radiates hope and happiness. Your husband is a gem, what a wonderful attitude he has.

    • K says:

      Thank you SO much Marie! I completely agree. He settles me like no one else. That is how I “knew.” I am one lucky lady.

  • Ameena says:

    My mom planned my whole wedding too…made life SO easy!

    I agree with Marie…this post radiates happiness. So happy for you!

    • K says:

      Thank you Ameena! And a huge thank you to our mom’s. ๐Ÿ™‚ By the way – you are definitely going to approve of the American wedding venue. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Carly says:

    I’m going to be sad when all your weddings are over. The only thing better then hearing about someones wedding is hearing about their 8 million weddings!! You guys are just the cutest.

    I can’t wait to hear about Davids transition to America! If he needs to relax come August, there is an open invite to Chris’ family’s cottage in Ontario (where we will be all August) ๐Ÿ˜‰
    (Clearly this invite extends to you too. And your parents since I think they’re adorable. Heck you might as well just have a Canadian wedding too, bring everyone!)

    • K says:

      hahaha! Carly, I love this! You are totally right! I might as well have a Canadian wedding too. :)) You will be the first to know… when I show up on your doorstep…. with my entire family. You are the best!

  • Stacey says:

    Honey after 2 years of planning and running back and forth between 2 countries…..you better freakin believe that US party is gonna be the party of the year!!!! Next time you guys are in Madrid….I wanna invite ya’ll out to dinner!!!! Miss ya guapa! Besos!

    • K says:

      Holla! Yes! Party of the year! When I am in Madrid you know you will be hearing from me. Can’t wait for our rendezvous! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In the in-between at Anywhere There's An Airport.

meta

