same you, same me, different everything else.

July 24, 2012 § 19 Comments

The Spaniard and I are back on the same continent. Mine!

He is the same him. I am (a better) me. And there ends the similarities.

I rush off to work. He is finding his way in a new country. He has the questions. I (try) to have the answers.

Life has been wonderful and unbelievable. Different and scary. Full of adjustments, compromises and love.

I can’t believe that the plan we made over 2 years ago – the one where I moved to Spain and then we would move back to the States – has played out. Nearly to the day – every goal – every timeline – right on schedule.

Pinch me.

There is no better way to say welcome to Florida than a trip to the beach. Sun soaked sand.

Though life is different – the constants remain – Florida is hot and life is good.

§ 19 Responses to same you, same me, different everything else.

  • Yay! Happy for you guys 🙂

  • cynthiasolc says:

    So glad you guys are enjoying being Stateside!

  • Chaaron says:

    Hooray for happiness and plans working out! I hope you are enjoying your transition and I can’t wait to hear more about it!

  • Ella says:

    Hey Kristin,
    That’s is so exciting! Good for you guys! I’m curious and have soem questions if I may? Maybe email would be best – let me know. I’m in a similar situation but still in Spain…hoping for that same dream to play out, but my partner has a lot of trouble with the idea of leaving his province, Navarra. Most people here have no intention of ever leaving other than a little vacay here and there. Even the taxi driver said to me the other day, “Oh if you’re bf is from Navarra, in Navarra you will stay!” lol. Anyways – I’d love to ask you a few questions if you wouldn’t mind! Let me know!! Congratulations as well for making your dreams come true! xo

    • K says:

      Hi Ella! Thank you for reading and for commenting! I would be happy to answer any questions! My Spaniard was ready and willing to leave. It was the plan from the start – though I know many Americans who date Spaniards and the thought of moving stateside is a stretch! Especially for their mothers 😉 I will shoot you an email so you can ask away!

  • Sandy Allain says:

    That’s great, your plan has been achieved according to your schedule. keep it up!

  • Amanda says:

    Welcome back to the Sunshine State, lady!

    • K says:

      Thank you so much Amanda!! Perhaps it will work out for us to meet up on this side! 🙂 Let me know when you are in FL and you know you will hear of me if I am up your way!

  • Pam says:

    Welcome back! Glad everything worked out with your return home!

  • Stacey says:

    I am so happy for you guys!!!! I’m gonna miss seeing you here in Madrid….but I know you’ll be back to see the familia sooner rather than later and I’ll have to make a wee Florida trip in the near future!!!! Thinking of ya lady!!! Best of luck to the Spaniard in the good ole US of A. Besos! 🙂

    • K says:

      Thank you so much Stacey! I definitely miss our afternoons at Starbucks. Alas… I am back in the swing of the U.S. schedule. A workin’ girl again 🙂 When you are in the States you better swing by Florida! We would LOVE to have you!!

  • Julie says:

    Love your blog, girl! Woo Hoo! A new post! Enjoy your time together. Enjoy your time in Florida together. I’m horribly homesick. 🙂

    • K says:

      Julie this post was especially for you! 🙂 But I am so sorry for your homesickness. Boy o boy can I relate to that!! Sending you hugs and a virtual tea from Infusion. :))

  • Amanda says:

    Woohoo! Must be so nice having all the parts of your world together in one place at last. I pop in from time to time so sorry for the delayed comment! I look forward to hearing how you two tackle life together in the States, you are each other’s “home” now 🙂

    • K says:

      Thanks Amanda! Yes, it is so nice to my world all together on one continent! 🙂 Though “home” with another person is always an adjustment. 🙂 A good one!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading same you, same me, different everything else. at Anywhere There's An Airport.

meta

